Army Cadet Service Medal

The Army Cadet League of Canada has created an award to recognize continuous meritorious cadet service of at least four years by deserving army cadets. To qualify for this award, a serving cadet must have successfully completed four years of honourable service with no serious infractions, and be recommended by the Cadet Corps Commanding Officer. Furthermore, eligible service is portable between army cadet corps. Army Cadets are also eligible to receive a Bar for the Army Cadet Service Medal for each year of training completed beyond the four year qualifying period.

Cadet Medal of Bravery

The Cadet Award of Bravery may be awarded to a cadet who performs an outstanding deed of valour involving risk of life in attempting to save the life or property of others.

Major General Howard Award

“The Major-General W. A. Howard Medal” as a legacy to promote training excellence by senior Army Cadets through a structured assessment of a cadet’s overall performance. This award will recognize the cadet in each province and territory who has achieved the highest results in the 4th year Gold training level annually as they prepare to enter into the Year 5 “Master Cadet” level.

Legion Medal Of Excellence

The purpose of the Royal Canadian Legion Cadet Medal of Excellence (RCLCME) is to provide recognition for individual endeavour in the area of citizenship in meeting and enhancing the aims and objectives of the cadet organization.  The Royal Canadian Legion sponsors the program.

Lord Strathcona Medal

The Lord Strathcona Trust Fund Medal, most commonly referred to as the Lord Strathcona Medal, is the highest award which can be bestowed upon a cadet in recognition of exemplary performance in physical and military training. The medal, Certificate of Merit, and the lapel pin are awarded by the Lord Strathcona Trust.


The Army, Navy and Air Force Veterans in Canada (ANAVETS), as a legacy to its desire to promote excellence and awareness of the Canadian Cadet Organization (CCO), have established the ANAVETS Cadet Medal of Merit). One medal will be awarded to the top cadet, male or female for each course at each CSTC even if the cadet has already received the ANAVETS Cadet Medal of Merit for another course.

Order of St. George

The Order of St. George will award a medal to honour Staff Cadets who distinguish themselves in their exemplary contribution at a CTC or at a Junior Canadian Ranger Enhanced Training Session (ETS) during the summer training period.

Criteria and selection process are being developed and will be distributed to the Regional Cadet Support Units and Cadet Training Centre’s once approved.